Governance / Board of Directors

FAIR Canada is governed by its own board of directors. The board of directors of FAIR Canada is responsible for appointing and supervising executive staff of the Foundation.

Current Directors

Preet Banerjee (Vice-Chair) – Toronto
Larry Bates– Toronto

Robb Engen – Alberta
Neil Gross – Toronto

Wanda Morris – Vancouver
Rossa O’Reilly– Toronto
Ellen Roseman (Chair) – Toronto
Marc J. Ryan – Montreal


Former Directors

Stanley Beck
Stan Buell

Line Deslandes
Bradley Doney
Pat Foran 

Neil de Gelder
Stephen A. Jarislowsky
Claude Lamoureux
Ermanno Pascutto
Robert Pouliot
Dawn Russell
Whipple Steinkraus
Glorianne Stromberg
Larry Waite

Ed Waitzer
Laura Tamblyn Watts
Tania Willumsen
Guy Lemoine


*Finance and Audit Committee

The Finance and Audit Committee is composed of four directors:  Rossa O’Reilly (Chair), Preet Banerjee,  Guy Lemoine and Ellen Roseman. The financial statements of FAIR Canada are audited, and its fiscal year runs from July 1 to June 30. The auditor is Stern Cohen, LLP.

^Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is composed of five directors and the Executive Director: Preet Banerjee, Guy Lemoine, Rossa O’Reilly, Ellen Roseman, Larry Bates and Jean-Paul Bureaud.

*Marketing and Communications Committee

The Marketing and Communications Committee was established in 2019, this committee is chaired by Larry Bates and includes Robb Engen, Wanda Morris, Ellen Roseman, and Marc Ryan.

Board Meetings

The board generally meets bi-monthly and also holds a full-day strategic planning meeting each year. In addition to the meetings, staff also consults the board on important policy submissions and reports. FAIR Canada plans to focus on four strategic priorities for the years 2020 to 2022.

Qualifications of the Board

In selecting the board of directors, the following were key criteria in identifying potential directors:

  • Knowledge and experience in financial markets
  • Expertise in law, financial disclosure and regulation
  • Representative of different regions of Canada
  • Representative of investors, with particular reference to individual investors
  • Reputation for integrity and acting in the public interest
  • No material conflicts of interest

4,633 total views, 15 views today